Tcherepnin, Alexander. (1899-1977)

"Violin Sonata" - Autograph Musical Quotation

A scarce four-measure AMQS from the Russian composer's 1921 Violin Sonata, neatly penned in black ink on a slip of manuscript paper, signed and dated "6/I 1964 NYC." 15.5 x 7 cm. Toned, slightly creased along the left edge, otherwise fine. Together with a similar sheet, signed and inscribed with a quotation in Chinese characters and in English in the hand of Ming Tcherepnin, pianist and teacher and wife of the composer, and with a halftone photograph of the two musicians together.

Born in Russia, Tcherepnin fled the revolution for Paris in 1921, where he began his career as a composer. Living in Japan and China (1934-1937), he returned to France and then to the U.S. in 1950. His unusual music, draws on elements of the Russian, French and East Asian traditions, as well as many of his own innovations. His best known works include "Piano Concerto 4" (1947), "The Farmer and the Nymph" (1952) and "Serenade for Strings" (1964) and he was experimenting with electronic music before his death. (9037)

Classical Music
Autographs & Manuscripts
Composers / Conductors / Instrumentalists