Copland, Aaron. (1900–1990)

Three Latin-American Sketches - SIGNED SCORE

New York: Boosey & Hawkes. 1975. Signed full score of the important American composer's Three Latin-American Sketches: 1. Estribillo, 2. Paisaje Mexicano, 3. Danza de Jalisco, in their 1968 and 1975 orchestrations.  Copland has signed the title page in ink: "Aaron Copland / 1977".  [PN] B.& H.20262.  Some light wear at edges, but overall in very fine condition.  Cover, t.p., 61 pp. bound with staples.  9.25 x 12.25 inches (23.5 x 31 cm).

"The music of Latin America had a particular appeal for Copland. He composed two dances that when put together became Two Mexican Pieces. Later, he added a third and changed the title to Three Latin American Sketches. Copland wrote, 'The tunes, the rhythms, and the temperament of the pieces are folksy, while the orchestration is bright and snappy and the music sizzles along — or at least it seems to me that it does.'" (Vivian Perlis, 1998, (18540)

Signed Document/Item
Classical Music
Printed Music