Messiaen, Olivier. (1908–1992) & Loriod, Yvonne. (1924–2010)

"Vingt Regards sur l'Enfant-Jesus" - Signed Score

Paris: Durand. 1944 / 1971. Double-signed score from the important French composer and his wife, the pianist Yvonne Loriod, who premiered the work in 1944. Both Messiaen and Loriod have signed, inscribed, and dated 1983 on the first page below the dedication to Loriod. Messiaen writes (translated from the French): "For John Reiland, with the hope that my colors of rhythms and chords will bring him joy... Olivier Messiaen." Loriod writes: "En souvenir de Mills College! Amicalement...Yvonne Loriod, 4 Mai 1983." 177 pp. Softcover in orange paper wrappers. Toning, some light edge wear to the wrappers, but overall fine. 10.5 x 13.25 inches (27 x 34 cm).

Widely regarded as one of the most important piano works of the 20th century, Vingt Regards sur l'enfant-Jésus ("Twenty contemplations on the infant Jesus") is a suite of 20 pieces for solo piano, a meditation on the infancy of Jesus from various perspectives: God, Mary, the angels, the shepherds, and from such abstract directions as "from the heights" and "from time."  (16996)

Signed Document/Item
Printed Music
Classical Music